Home > Carter > April 24, 2012

April 24, 2012

Today, just for shits and giggles, I stopped by a machine shop with my axle.  I wanted to see if they could machine the key way they entire length, and whether or not it would be cost effective over buying a new axle.  To my surprise, they were able to do it today and it was only $25!!  That is one less headache out of the way.  So now that I don’t have to wait for an axle, I am on the hunt for some 1.25″ aluminum square stock.  I called two local metal supply shops and one didn’t even carry it, and the other wanted almost $30 a foot.  I decided to poke around in a scrap yard to see what I could find.  They had nothing 1.25″ thick, but I did find two pieces a little over a foot long, 1.5″ wide and 5/8″ thick (I only paid $3 for both pieces!!), so the plan is now to weld the two 5/8″ pieces together and then cut my 1.25″ to length afterwards.  I stopped by a friends house after the scrap yard to have him weld them together.  I decided to cut them a little longer than originally planned, just so there would be plenty of meat for an extra bolt.  I cut two 4.5″ long pieces, (which are now 1.25″ x 1.5″ x 4.5″) for my new (quick and easy) caliper mounting brackets.  After drilling one crooked by hand, I decided my best bet was to go to my friend Shawn’s house and have him drill them for me on his drill press.  We drilled two 25/64″ holes in each block, for a snug fit of the 10mm mounting bolts.

I clamped the caliper mounting blocks where they needed to be on the kart, and drilled right through them and the axle bearing mount.  After they were bolted up, I drilled a third hole, also 25/64″, and added a third bolt for a little more support.  That was basically it to mount the calipers … pretty simple.

   <—– Left Side Caliper and Rotor, MOUNTED

 

   <—– Right Side Caliper and Rotor, MOUNTED

 

The caliper on the left side had to be mounted to the rear of the axle, and the right side to the front of the axle, to keep the bleeder screws at the highest point.  This is due to the fact that these are SpiderBox calipers, and are identical (there is no left and right).

Until next time …

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

